Lists · Podcast Unlimited

The Top Ten Stand-Up Comedians

rw

“I’m only joking
I don’t believe a thing I’ve said
What are you smoking?
I’m just a-fucking with your head”

KONGOS – “I’m Only Joking”

One of the most underappreciated occupations out there is being a stand-up comedian. It looks ridiculously easy, but the reality is that it is ridiculously difficult. Like every other craft, it takes thousands of hours to hone and sharpen your skills. And like every other occupation in show business, the competition is cut-throat. The pressure is so intense that there is more than one comedian on my list who left us way too soon.

I used to say at one of my old office jobs that my autobiography would be titled, “100 Comedians and Me: My Life as an Office Worker.” Because it seemed like most of my co-workers fancied themselves as stand-up comedians moonlighting as accountants or clerks during the day. As for me, I know I do not have what it takes to perform on stage with an open mic. And whenever I am accused of being a comic, my response is, “I’m not a comic. I have no material. I can’t tell a joke to save my life. I just happen to speak the truth, and some people find that funny.”

We could use a little laughter here. And they say laughter is the best medicine. So without further ado… THE ARISTOCRATS!

The Top Ten Stand-Up Comedians

Keith’s List

  • 10. Andrew “Dice” Clay
  • 9. Rodney Dangerfield
  • 8. Roseanne Barr
  • 7. Bob Newhart
  • 6. Richard Pryor
  • 5. Bill Cosby
  • 4. Steve Martin
  • 3. Eddie Murphy
  • 2. Jerry Seinfeld
  • 1. Robin Williams

Honorable Mentions: Garry Shandling; Kevin Hart; George Carlin; Zach Galifianakis; Tim Allen; George Burns; Dana Carvey; Billy Crystal; Ray Romano; Adam Sandler; Gallagher.

My List

  • 10. Lenny Bruce
  • 9. Brian Regan
  • 8. Chris Rock
  • 7. Mitch Hedberg
  • 6. Bill Hicks
  • 5. Richard Pryor
  • 4. Steven Wright
  • 3. Eddie Murphy
  • 2. George Carlin
  • 1. Robin Williams

Honorable Mentions: Rodney Dangerfield; Sam Kinnison; Bill Maher; Greg Giraldo; Jerry Seinfeld; Dimitri Martin; Stephen Lynch; Trevor Moore; Gilbert Gottfried; Dennis Miller; Louis CK; Kevin Meaney (the inspiration for the podcast segment “that’s Crazy Talk”); Dennis Wolfberg; Dennis Leary; Randy & Jason Sklar; Garry Shandling.

Next Podcast Unlimited List: The Top Ten Billy Joel Songs.

 

One thought on “The Top Ten Stand-Up Comedians

Leave a Reply

