Lists

The Top Ten Dinosaurs

jurassicpark_dinosaurs

“A shadow from the sky, much too big to be a bird
A screaming, crashing noise louder than I’ve ever heard
It looked like two big silver trees that somehow learned to soar
Suddenly a summer breeze and a mighty lion’s roar.”

Was Not Was – “Walk The Dinosaur”

When I was in elementary school, I would go on a field trip to the American Museum of Natural History every year. In summer Day Camp, there would always be a field trip to the museum as well. That is a total of 14 visits in a seven-year stretch. So I thought I had become well versed in dinosaurs.

If the 1993 movie Jurassic Park taught us anything, it is that there are only 2 types of people who are experts on dinosaurs: paleontologists, and children under the age of 10.  

Apparently, paleontologists have made a whole bunch of discoveries and advancements in the past three decades since my last visit to the AMNH. The two biggest changes that concern our lists: (1) the dinosaur formerly known as the Brontosaurus is now called an Apatosaurus; and (2) the avian pterodactyl (and all Pterosaurs) are no longer classified as dinosaurs. In regards to the former, I have adjusted the nomenclature on our lists. As for the latter, I had to remove them from my list altogether, but Keith was not deterred in the slightest – it’s on his list anyway.)

I want to briefly explain my choices, especially the lesser known breeds. I decided to go with the biggest (#6), most armored (#5), fastest (#4), (relatively) smartest (#3), and baddest (#1). I will presume Keith will do his editing magic on the podcast – it took me no less than three attempts to pronounce these names correctly, AND I had notes right in front of me with the pronunciation.

With all of that in mind, here are our lists:

The Top Ten Dinosaurs

Keith’s List

  • 10. Hadrosaurus
  • 9. Pachycephalosaurus
  • 8. Dilophosaurus
  • 7. Pterodactyl*
  • 6. Apatosaurus
  • 5. Velociraptor
  • 4. Ankylosaurus
  • 3. Triceratops
  • 2. Tyrannosaurus Rex
  • 1. Stegosaurus

No Honorable Mentions. (Otherwise, #7 would have been switched out.)

My List

  • 10. Allosaurus
  • 9. Triceratops
  • 8. Apatosaurus
  • 7. Stegosaurus
  • 6. Argentinosaurus
  • 5. Euoplocephalus
  • 4. Dromiceiomimus
  • 3. Troodon
  • 2. Utahraptor
  • 1. Spinosaurus

Honorable Mentions: Deinonychus; Diplodocus; Giganotosaurus; Sauropelta; Tyrannosaurus.

Next Podcast Unlimited List: Top Ten Things the 20th Century promised we would have by now, but haven’t been invented yet.

Leave a Reply

