Lists · Music · Podcast Unlimited

The Top Ten Guilty Pleasure songs

You’ve probably heard of “The Rules of the Internet.” I’d like to contribute to that list. One of my rules is Rule # 107.9: Everyone is entitled to no more than 5 guilty pleasure songs per year. My definition of “guilty pleasure” is: having an irrational, illogical like for something in which normally contradicts most, if not all standards you have well-established for liking things belonging in that category.

Most folks’ guilty pleasures have elements that pander to the lowest common denominator, thus being in a lower standard as things labeled as “quality.” I handwave many arguments away for my guilty pleasures by stating that sed item (e.g.: song, film, TV show) is simply too good to be labeled as a “guilty pleasure.” I don’t go to that well often, or often enough, since this list exists.

Seeing that I have many sins to atone for, part of my penance is to confess to liking a bunch of unpopular pop songs, i.e.: songs that never should have been popular in the first place. “I confess / in 100 words or less / I come clean / yeah, I’m a mess.” (from a song that ironically, is not a guilty pleasure, in regards to the facts that: 1) it is from a damn good song; and 2) it was never popular enough to be eligible for guilty pleasure status.)

In case it isn’t painfully obvious, Keith and I do our lists separately, with zero collaboration. Yes, this list was my idea, and I tried to explain the concept multiple times. And I volunteered multiple times to assist. Either he completely misinterpreted by clarifications, or he really is truly ashamed to like the songs on his list. I do not live such a charmed life.

Without further adieu here is…

The Podcast Unlimited Top Ten Guilty Pleasure Songs

Keith’s List

  • 10. “The Downeaster Alexa” by Billy Joel
  • 9. “Rocket Man” by Elton John
  • 8. “Staying Alive” by The Bee Gees
  • 7. “What is Love?” by Haddaway
  • 6. “Rubber Ducky” by Ernie (from Sesame Street)*
  • 5. “Duel of Fates” by John Williams**
  • 4. “Dancing Queen” by ABBA
  • 3. “Running” by Information Society
  • 2. “Forever in Blue Jeans” by Neil Diamond
  • 1. “The Scientist” by Coldplay

Notes:
* voiced by Jim Henson. From “The Sesame Street Sing-A-Long” album
** from the movie Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, and its soundtrack.

My List

  • 10. “In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida” by Iron Butterfly
  • 9. “Send Me an Angel” by Real Life
  • 8. “A Fifth of Beethoven” by Walter Murphy
  • 7. “Abracadabra” by the Steve Miller Band
  • 6. “Baby I love your way/ Freebird Medley” by Will to Power
  • 5. “Sailing” by Christopher Cross
  • 4. “Queen of Hearts” by Juice Newton
  • 3. “Grandma got run over by a Reindeer” by Elmo + Patsy
  • 2. “Two Become One” by The Spice Girls
  • 1. “Barbie Girl” by Aqua

In case I haven’t embarrassed my enough already, and give more empirical evidence that I had not acquire any semblance of taste until 1993, here are some (Dis)Honorable Mentions that just missed making my list:

“Baby Baby” by Amy Grant; “On Our Own” by Bobby Brown; “Jam on It” by Newcleus; “Running up that Hill” by The Elastic Band; “We Close Our Eyes” by Go West; “Tarzan Boy” by Baltimora; “Rhythm of the Night” by El DeBarge; “Seasons Change” by Expose; “This time I know it’s for real” by Donna Summer; “The Promise” When in Rome; “Angel” by Madonna; “Swing the Mood” by Jive Bunny + The Mastermixers; “I kissed a Girl” by Jill Sobule.

next Podcast Unlimited Top Ten List: movie sequels that are better than the original.

One thought on “The Top Ten Guilty Pleasure songs

Leave a Reply

