Lists · Movies · Podcast Unlimited

The Top Ten Worst Movies of 2014

(a.k.a.: The Bottom Ten Best movies of 2014)

Disclaimer: I did not personally see all 10 movies on my lists. But I defy anyone to make a case that any the movies on my list were better than… say “Lucy”, or “Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.” Keith did see all the movies on his list, so my condolences to him.

2014 was the year that gave us movies that were long overdue, (a.k.a: the Chinese Democracy of films), and not worth the wait in: “300: Rise of an Empire”; “Sin City: A Dame to Kil For”; and “Dumb and Dumber To.” The latter was also part of another bad trend of 2014: movies with alternate spellings of “two”, joining “Think Like a Man Too.” All of these are Dishonorable mentions.

It was also a year that gave us a multiplex worth of faith-based films, i.e. an overdose of the belief in Christianity. But before you get all riled up by saying that these had tiny budgets, this sub-genre also includes the tent pole blockbusters “Noah”, and “Exodus: Gods and Kings.”

I chose to do a list of worst films instead of a best films list because there were so many more bad movies. And I believe 2014 will go down as a fairly weak year in regards to pop culture. The only saving grace of 2014 movies is that 2014 (pop) music was worse.

Without further adieu, here are the worst of the worst of 2014. You have been warned.

The Top Ten Worst Movies of 2014

Keith’s List

  • 10. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • 9. Expendables 3
  • 8. Her
  • 7. Interstellar
  • 6. Sin City: A Dame to Kill For
  • 5. Earth to Echo
  • 4. A Million Ways to Die in the West
  • 3. Let’s Be Cops
  • 2. I, Frankenstein
  • 1. Left Behind

My List

  • 10. Atlas Shrugged: Part 3 – Who is John Galt?
  • 9. Left Behind
  • 8. Saving Christmas
  • 7. Legends of Oz: Dorothy’s Return
  • 6. Vampire Academy
  • 5. Pompeii
  • 4. Expendables 3
  • 3. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
  • 2. I, Frankenstein
  • 1. Transformers: Age of Extinction
One thought on “The Top Ten Worst Movies of 2014

  1. I just watched Left Behind on youtube last night. I had no desire or intention of seeing it but the opportunity presented itself and I thought maybe I would be able to at least say something good about it. Though I have not seen the other nine, I am confident that it stands unrivaled in its #1 spot of worst movies.

    I was embarrassed as a Christian to think of unbelieves believing that this ‘beam me ujp Scotty!’ theology is typical of what we believe. If that is so, we have nothing to say to Mormons about their fanciful theology.
    http://textsincontext.wordpress.com/2013/05/11/second-coming-rapture-vs-scripture-christian/

    Like

Leave a Reply

