Lists · Music · Omnibus

The I,Omnibus Top Ten songs of the Summer of 2013

We interrupt your usual “Song of the Moment” blog post with a very special entry. With the summer unofficially ending, it is time to look back to review which songs will make me look back with fond memories of this season. And if you think you know my top ten, then either: (1) you have been paying attention to this blog; or (2) you hacked my computer.

I seriously thought of making this a Top Nine list, but not because I can only think of 9 songs. There is a venerable who’s who of songs that miss the cut. (Ironically, not the bands The Who or The Guess Who.) Bands like Pearl Jam, Avenged Sevenfold, Nine Inch Nails, Panic! At the Disco, The 1975, Phoenix, Kings of Leon, Lorde, Alt-J, and Tame Impala all almost made the list. (The latter’s “Elephant” was bumped off at the last-minute. I just couldn’t justify placing that song on the list.) As far as for Atlas Genius, American Authors, Siversun Pickups, Boy, and  Fitz and the Tantrums are concerned, they are not considered because I heard their songs before the summer. But they sure as heck would have made my Best of the Spring of 2013 list, if I had decided to make such a list. As for New Politics – since they were my previous SotM, I feel no need to repeat myself. So you’re basically getting a Top 11 list for the price of 10.

And now… on with the show.

10. “Right Action” by Franz Ferdinand. This song sounds like something Beck would have made in the late 90’s. This band has a penchant of making very catchy riffs.

9. “Purple Yellow Red and Blue” by Portugal. The Man. To be honest, I didn’t like the song at first. But the song grew on me and won me over. The question is how come Mars, Inc. hasn’t used this song to promote Skittles?

8. “Stompa” by Serena Ryder. Thanks to The Hunger Games, female archers have become a cliché in music videos. This simple anthem rock song edges out Phoenix’s Korean-culture-inspired song, “Entertainment.”

7. “Red Hands” by Walk off the Earth. The “I’m late to the party” entry. Terrible legal defense, but great song.

6. “Diamonds” by The Boxer Rebellion. For those that have been keeping score, you may have noticed that I’m usually not a big fan of party songs. I like the genres of electronica and dance, but not this season. Consider this the portent for the top half of the list.

5. “Demon to lean on” by Wavves. Imagines Weezer with attitude. They’re so edgy, they are the bane of spell checks everywhere.

4. “Ways to Go” by Grouplove. I don’t normally comment on the videos, since I make my judgements on the songs way before I check out the videos. In this case, I wonder if this one is banned in North Korea. I mean, I’m sure almost everything foreign is banned in North Korea, but I mean that downloading this one in Pyongyang will get you an extra special punishment.

3. “Follow My Feet” by Unlikely Candidates. It’s my brand-new, all-time favorite drinking song. Hands and feet down.

2. “Lightning Bolt” by Jake Bugg. At least someone at Gatorade has a brilliant sense of music and marketing. They have a bolt in their logo, and they used this song in their latest commercial. Jake is also the lightning bolt that the folk rock genre desperately needs if it wants to continue to remain relevant in 2013.

(I think I know what you are thinking, “Where is Daft Punk?” Their song was EVERYWHERE. Let me explain. I have an alternate interpretation of the song. Granted, it’s a stretch, but I pretend that this song is a companion piece to Don Henley’s “All she wants to do is dance.” I imagine that Daft Punk is on a stake out trying to capture a person codenamed “Lucky.” The lines, “She’s up all night ’til the sun … She’s up all night for good fun,” corresponds with Henley’s refrain, “All she wants to do is dance.” Since we have no idea what DP looks like, why can’t they be part of a secret military police force that specializes in “pickin’ up the prisoners and puttin’ ’em in a pen,” and “bug(ging) the men’s room in the local disco lounge?” In contrast of the woman, who is having a good time in her leisure time, DP is on the clock, working on a clandestine mission. Not buying it? Oh well… you hear a song a couple hundred times in a short time, your mind tends to drift.)

All right, sorry for the tangent. I just wanted some filler before the grand finale. And so, my #1, and I suppose, my new “Song of the Moment….”

1. “Hearts Like Ours” by The Naked and Famous. Of all the haunting songs I heard over the past few months, this one moved me the most.

One thought on “The I,Omnibus Top Ten songs of the Summer of 2013

Leave a Reply

