Media · Movies · Music · Sports · Television · Uncategorized

Lightning Round

Since I can’t make as many posts as I want before the 31st, and I don’t have the energy or talent to expand my points into several paragraphs, here are some one liners to finish off the year:

  • Radagast (of The Hobbit) is the new Jar-Jar Binks.
  • Whenever I hear Rihanna’s “Diamonds,” I keep thinking that it sounds like a song that Lady Gaga passed on. The song might be better if Ms Germanotta was the singer.
  • If John Ford, Sam Peckinpah, and Aaron McGruder ever teamed up on a project, they might come up with something close to “Django Unchained.”
  • If every prognosticator, every pundit, every sports talk show host, and every Jets fan predicted that the Jets’ 2012 season would be a train-wreck, why is everyone acting so surprised when it actually happened?
  • The biggest myth about the New York media is that the (football) Giants are quiet and let the Jets do all the talking. Just because Eli Manning is tight-lipped doesn’t mean the rest of the team doesn’t yap to the media. Remember, TV, movie,  and sports personalities Frank Gifford; Phil Simms; Lawrence Taylor; Tiki Barber; Michael Strahan; Aaron Pierce; Carl Banks; Jesse Palmer; and Brad Benson (if you ever listen to the radio in NYC, you’ll hear his ads all the time), all played for the New York Giants. I expect to add Victor Cruz; Antrel Rolle; and Osi Umenyiora to this list soon.
  • Farewell, G4 Network. Even though you stopped airing anime a long time ago, I will miss “Attack of the Show” and “X-Play.” But what I will really miss the most is “Ninja Warrior,” and “American Ninja Warrior.” Wasn’t the latter NBC’s biggest summer show? Don’t tell me that NBC plans to air “America’s Got Talent” 5x a week during Summer ’13.
  • Also, R.I.P. Charles Durning. When I heard the news, my first thought was, “Oh no, not Doc Hopper.” I can’t believe that credit wasn’t mentioned during his obits.
Leave a Reply

