Music

Earworm of the moment: “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers

It is a coincidence that I go back-to-back earworms. Don’t fret, there will be a “Song of the Moment” post coming in the near future. In fact, there could be multiple SotM’s if I can’t make up my mind soon. I do want to get this out of the way (and out of my head) as soon as possible. I can’t give it official stamp of approval as a “SotM”. The good news is that this song is short and sweet. In fact, it may be too short. Maybe it’s the salesman in me talking, but this love song is missing a romantic version of a power close. I mean, the song mentions (over and over) that “I belong with you / you belong with me,” but the singer doesn’t really mention why.  The bad news is that it could get the same overplayed treatment that befell “We Are Young” by Fun (or fun.)  and/or  “Somebody that I used to know” by Gotye. The Lumineers are an up and coming band, and judging from some of their other songs, I wouldn’t mind seeing them in concert. Even though I personally do not hang out on the corner of Bowery and Canal St., I am glad it is mentioned in the lyrics. (“Forget it, Jake. It’s Chinatown.”)

2 thoughts on “Earworm of the moment: “Ho Hey” by The Lumineers

Leave a Reply

