Music

Song of the moment – ‘Sail’ by AWOLNATION

Before I get to my SotM, a few thoughts on music.

  • Apparently, MTV is at it again. According to the NY Daily News, not only is there a channel that plays music videos, but they are censoring Foster the People’s Pumped up Kicks, due to the lyrics of the chorus (“faster than my bullet,” “outrun my gun.”)  Leave it to MTVU to get things backwards. In the US, Americans have no qualms about violence, but are hung up about sex. The network of 16 and Pregnant has no qualms about sex, but are in a tizzy about the mere mention of guns and bullets.
  • It’s a shame that there is no current song with the word “June” in its title. We have Darling Buds of May by Brother (you know, the “it is what it is” song), and Sunset in July by 311. It would have been perfect synergy. Oh well, these two will have to settle for honorable mentions for SotM.

Now, on to Sail by AWOLNATION. This has my first nominee for lyric of the year, “Blame it on my A.D.D.” I hate being late on these songs, but the single is finally gaining some traction. I just have one question for lead singer Aaron Bruno, can you turn off the CAPS LOCK  button please? The rule of thumb is usually te more gimmicky the band’s name is,the more that band is gong to suck.To me, the all-caps name seems like a gimmick. I know that A.W.O.L. is an acronym. I understand the name is an inside joke. But that doesn’t explain why the “Nation” part has to be in all capital letters. Maybe it’s just me and my A.D.D.

Leave a Reply

