Music

Song of the moment: “Help is on the way” by Rise Against

I admit that it took quite some time for this song to grow on me. But when I learned that this song was written shortly after Hurricane Katrina, the band gained my respect. And as much as I love the A-list celebrity filled Beastie Boys’ video, “Make Some Noise,” the video for this song is even better. It’s sad to realize that even though Katrina was almost six years ago, natural disasters are almost always current, making this song as pertinent now, as it would have been back in 2005. Call me a sucker, but sometimes I’d like to hear a non-whiny, antigovernment, protest song that has a relevant message. I mean, I enjoy protest songs as much as the next person, as supported by my collection of early 90’s music. But I find that it is easier for me to work out listening to this instead.

One thought on “Song of the moment: “Help is on the way” by Rise Against

Leave a Reply

