Sports · Television

Quick review: “Sports Show with Norm MacDonald”

I just watched the premiere of “Sports Show with Norm MacDonald,” and it took me 30 seconds to realize two things: (1) Norm MacDonald can deliver sports humor in a deadpan style that is a million times better than I ever could; and (2) the Onion’s “SportsDome” flamed out so miserably on Comedy Central, that it got replaced by ANOTHER sports comedy show in a matter of weeks. Norm got more laughs out of me in the first 90 seconds of his monologue than the ‘Dome did during its entire run.

Tonight’s episode was very topical, which is a double-edged sword. Sure, it makes the first-run episodes seems fresh, but I worry when it is re-run in the future. It’s been 48 hours, and I barely care who won the Masters. Will anyone care six months from now? To be fair, will anyone care about this blog six months from now? I enjoyed his “Blake Like Me” segment, in which he went “undercover” in the LA Clippers  practice gym as Blake Griffin, because I kept wondering the whole time how they got Blake to be in perfectly sync with Norm’s voice, and perfectly out of sync with playing basketball.

I last thing I noticed: the show is produced by Jackhole Productions, the company formed by Jimmy Kimmel and Adam Carolla. At least they won’t make the same mistake the Onion made by going too meta.

Bottom line: Norm MacDonald is one of the funniest comedians around when he chooses to be. This show might have a chance to lat a full season. I don’t expect Daniel Tosh to reference this in his running gag of mentioning previously cancelled Comedy Central shows. My Grade = B+

One thought on “Quick review: “Sports Show with Norm MacDonald”

Leave a Reply

